Our ref:

GC/lkr: D-514137 & F-1878



13 July 2020

Electoral Districts Redistribution Panel c/- NSW Electoral Commission GPO Box 832 Sydney NSW 2001

redistribution@elections.nsw.gov.au

Dear Commissioners,

RE: Suggestions proposing boundary changes to Electorate of Cootamundra

I write in relation to the suggestions for change to the electoral boundary for the seat of Cootamundra on behalf of Narrandera Shire Council, currently on exhibition.

I note and support the suggestions made by B Bushell (NSWR200605/1) B Monaghan Bland Shire (NSWR200630/24) K and G Murphy (NSWR200630/28) G Lavelle Temora Shire (NSWR200701/37) and M Mulcair (NSWR200701/36).

The submission made by Waddell (NSWR200618/4) which is very comprehensive and proposes a relatively minor exchange of electors between Albury and Wagga Wagga electorates, the re-uniting of electors of Murrumbidgee Shire in the Murray electorate and the inclusion of the whole of Hilltops Council area and part of Yass Valley Council area in Cootamundra is **fully supported**. Importantly it recognises that the existing electoral boundaries in the region when established were based strongly on the communities of interest and have served the residents of the area well

The Greens suggestion (NSWR200701/30) also recognises the opportunity to increase the electors in the seat of Cootamundra by extending the electorate to the east and north.

An important characteristic of the Cootamundra electorate is the lack of a regional centre. The electorate comprises of several similar sized towns allowing the sitting member to spread attention, effort, and representation evenly across the electorate. Smaller communities are not competing with a large regional centre for attention and representation.

I note and lodge objection to the suggestions made by The Liberal Party of Australia, NSW Division (NSWR200701/34) as it exhibits a complete lack of understanding of the intricacies of the community of interest that exists in the Riverina.

The suggestions made by The National Party (NSWR200701/35) P19 to create a reformed Murray-Darling Electoral District in which Narrandera Shire would be included with Broken Hill, Hay, Balranald, Wentworth, and the unincorporated Far West are rejected outright. There is absolutely no community of interest or connection between Narrandera Shire residents and those far western communities. It is 754 Kilometres between Narrandera and Broken Hill. Similarly, its 755 kilometres between Griffith and Walgett. A sitting member in such an electorate would find representation impossible. The situation referred to by A Donoghue in his submission would be exacerbated.

The Shooters, Fishers and Farmers Party (NSW) Incorporated suggest (NSWR200701/38) including Narrandera in Murray on the false premise that its main community of interest is with the MIA towns but makes no suggestions as to overcoming the population deficiency then created in Cootamundra. The Australian Labour Party (NSW Branch) (NSWR200701/39) suggestion of including Narrandera Shire in Murray is also deficient in that it fails to reunite the Murrumbidgee Shire residents in Murray and increases the area of Cootamundra enormously.

Narrandera Shire Council understands that the predicted future population of Murray and Cootamundra suggest that change is required. We believe the deficiencies can easily be overcome by minor adjustments to Murray by reuniting the residents of Murrumbidgee Council area in that electorate and including the Boorowa area and part of Yass Valley Council area in Cootamundra. This would allow the Commission to retain Narrandera Shire in Cootamundra and assist in stabilising representation across the region.

Several submissions have argued that Narrandera should be included in Murray based on community of interest. In fact, Narrandera Shire is dominated by dryland farmers and residents typically look to the east for higher order services.

Should you wish to discuss any matters I have raised.

Yours sincerely

General Manager

Enc: Nil