





Lockhart Shire Council

File Ref: PV: SJ: E15-025

0:\2020-21\General Manager\E15-025 State Electoral Matters\LTR 20200710 Redistribution Panel - Submission.docx

10 July 2020

The Secretariat of the Electoral Districts Redistribution Panel c/- NSW Electoral Commission GPO Box 832 SYDNEY NSW 2001

Email: redistribution@elections.nsw.gov.au

Dear Sir/Madam

Review of NSW Electoral Districts - Reference No's NSWR200618/4 and NSWR200701/34

The Lockhart Shire local government area is currently contained in the State Electorate of Wagga Wagga.

Lockhart Shire Council submits that the local government area should be contained within the one electoral district and that it should remain in the electorate of Wagga Wagga.

Council objects to part of the local government area being transferred to the State Electorate of Albury with the balance remaining in the Electoral District of Wagga Wagga as proposed in Proposal Reference No's NSWR200618/4 and NSWR200701/34.

The submission is made having regard to the community of interest and the social, educational and cultural connection between the Shire and the City of Wagga Wagga as well as the connection with Wagga Wagga for accessing government services.

Dividing the local government area between two Electoral Districts would be problematic given the common interests across the local government area and the way Council interacts with the State Government.

The Shire comprises two main townships of similar size i.e. Lockhart and The Rock. Proposal Reference No. NSWR200701/34, in particular, would place each of these town a different Electoral District (Lockhart in Albury and The Rock in Wagga Wagga) adding to the difficulties.

Lockhart Shire is not a recently merged council and its local government boundaries have remained unchanged over a period of many years. Council maintains that this one longstanding local government community should be retained in one electoral District.

The opportunity to make a submission is appreciated.

Yours sincerely

