



Statement from the Chairperson of the Electoral Districts Redistribution Panel

Electoral Districts Redistribution Panel: Chairperson's Statement No. 2

Start of the New South Wales electoral district boundary redistribution process

Legislation requires that the 93 electoral districts in New South Wales each have the same number of enrolled voters (within a margin of allowance of 10 per cent more or less). To ensure this, after every second New South Wales State general election the electoral districts are reviewed and the boundaries redrawn if necessary. This process is called redistribution.

A redistribution can only be undertaken after a public consultation process set out in the *Electoral Act* 2017. The Chairperson of the Electoral Districts Redistribution Panel today announces the start of this public consultation process.

Suggestions and comments invited from the public

The Electoral Districts Redistribution Panel invites written suggestions relating to the distribution of New South Wales into electoral districts. Any suggestions lodged during the suggestion period — which closes Wednesday, 1 July 2020 — will be published on the NSW Electoral Commission website at elections.nsw.gov.au/redistribution for public inspection and comment.

Comments on any such suggestions are then invited to be lodged in writing with the Electoral Districts Redistribution Panel. Any comments received during the comments period — which closes Wednesday, 15 July 2020 — will be published on the NSW Electoral Commission website at elections.nsw.gov.au/redistribution for public inspection.

Key dates for the redistribution process

- Monday, 1 June 2020 Suggestion period opens
- Wednesday, 1 July 2020 Suggestion period closes
- Thursday, 2 July 2020 Comments period opens
- Wednesday, 15 July 2020 Comments period closes.

For further information about the redistribution and how you can make a suggestion or comment on a suggestion, visit <u>elections.nsw.gov.au/redistribution</u>

The Hon. Justice Arthur Emmett AO QC Chairperson Monday, 1 June 2020

Media contact

Cameron Whalan, Media and Campaigns Advisor (02) 9290 5936 or <u>nswecmedia@elections.nsw.gov.au</u> Further information <u>elections.nsw.gov.au/redistribution</u>