Local Government Act 1993 Local Government (General) Regulation 2021

Local government elections

Direction under s 356TA Posters - arrangements for COVID-19 pandemic

Pursuant to section 296(2) of the *Local Government Act* 1993 and section 275(1) of the *Local Government (General) Regulation 2021* (the **Regulation**), the Electoral Commissioner is election manager of the local government elections of the councils listed in the Annexure to this Direction.

Section 356TA(1) of the Regulation provides that the election manager may direct that a person must not display a poster in or on:

- (a) a polling place or pre-polling office; or
- (b) relevant premises within 100 metres of -
 - (i) a polling place, or
 - (ii) a pre-polling office.

Pursuant to section 356TA(8) of the Regulation, relevant premises are premises occupied or used by, or under the control or management of:

- (a) the Crown,
- (b) a NSW agency, or
- (c) a council, county council or joint organisation.

Therefore, to reduce the risk of infection from COVID-19 where a poster would be displayed, I direct that, in respect of any of the elections of the councils listed in the Annexure to this Direction, a person must not display a poster in or on:

- (a) a polling place or pre-polling office, or
- (b) relevant premises within 100 metres of -
 - (i) a polling place, or
 - (ii) a pre-polling office

on a day during the election period on which voting will be occurring, unless:

- (a) the poster was displayed by the person before 7 am; and
- (b) the display of the poster is not adjusted or altered in any way until after 7pm.

Without limiting the ordinary meaning of "poster", this Direction includes A-frames and corflutes.

John Schmidt Electoral Commissioner for New South Wales

Annexure

Council elections to which this Direction applies

Armidale Regional
Bathurst Regional
Bega Valley
Berrigan
Bland
City of Blue Mountains
Bourke
City of Broken Hill
Byron
Camden
Canada Bay
Carrathool
Clarence Valley
City of Coffs Harbour
Coonamble
Cowra
Dubbo Regional
Edward River
Federation
Georges River
Glen Innes Severn Shire
Greater Hume Shire
Gunnedah
City of Hawkesbury
Hilltops
Hunter's Hill
Inverell

Kiama	Ku-ring-gai
Kyogle	Lachlan
City of Lake Macquarie	Lane Cove
Leeton	City of Lismore
City of Lithgow	City of Liverpool
Liverpool Plains	Lockhart
City of Maitland	Mid-Coast
Mid-Western Regional	Moree Plains
Mosman	Murray River
Murrumbidgee	Muswellbrook
Nambucca Valley	Narrabri
Narrandera	Narromine
City of Newcastle	North Sydney
Northern Beaches	Oberon
City of Orange	Parkes
City of Parramatta	Port Macquarie-Hastings
Port Stephens	Queanbeyan-Palerang Regional
City of Randwick	Richmond Valley
City of Ryde	City of Shellharbour
City of Shoalhaven	Singleton
Snowy Monaro Regional	Snowy Valleys
Strathfield	Sutherland Shire
City of Sydney	Tamworth Regional
Temora	Tenterfield
The Hills Shire	Tweed
Upper Hunter Shire	Upper Lachlan Shire
Uralla	City of Wagga Wagga
Walcha	Walgett
Warren	Warrumbungle Shire
Waverley	Weddin

Wentworth	City of Willoughby
Wollondilly	City of Wollongong
Woollahra	Yass Valley