Go to content

Electoral boundaries

On this page

    Federal boundaries

    Federal boundaries are known as federal electoral divisions. For details about Federal electoral divisions, visit the Australian Electoral Commission.

    State boundaries

    Electoral districts

    State boundaries are known as state electoral districts. An electoral district is a geographically defined area in New South Wales, and each district elects a representative to the Legislative Assembly. New South Wales is divided into 93 state electoral districts.

    You can find out which electoral district you belong to.

    Boundary management

    The electoral district boundaries in New South Wales are decided by a distribution process that ensures a similar number of electors in each district, with a 10 per cent difference in the average allowed.

    Over time, voter movements and the enrolment of new voters can cause the electoral population in some districts to grow while others may decline.

    This can cause a population imbalance between districts, so electoral boundaries are sometimes modified in a process called redistribution.

    Redistribution of boundaries

    A redistribution is carried out:

    • when the law changes the number of members of the Legislative Assembly (presently 93)

    • after every second State election

    • when more than a quarter of the electoral districts do not have an equal number of voters (within a margin of five per cent more or less for a period of more than two months)

    • at other times as provided by law.

    Redistributions are conducted by an Electoral Districts Redistribution Panel consisting of:

    • a current or former Judge appointed by the Governor as the Chairperson of the Redistribution Panel

    • the Electoral Commissioner

    • the Surveyor-General of New South Wales.

    A redistribution is required to be conducted after the 2019 State general election.

    NSW Electoral Districts Maps

    The first election event to apply the 2013 determined Redistributed Districts was the State Election in March 2015.

    NSW Land and Property Information Spatial Information eXchange (SIX) Electoral Channel

    SIX Electoral Channel is a map viewing tool that displays the current and the determined NSW State electoral districts in an easy-to-use map.

    It is an interactive map that allows you to search, zoom in and out, query and change the map layers that are displayed.

    Before you start - SIX Key tools and tips (PDF 0.2MB)

    Electronic files - maps available via each district profile

    Electoral District Maps (high resolution PDF image files)

    Electoral District Outline Maps (high resolution PDF image files)

    Electoral District Index Maps (high resolution PDF image files)

    State Index Maps

    New South Wales Index Map (PDF 7.2MB) | New South Wales Index Map JPG

    Metropolitian Index Map (PDF 4.2MB) | Metropolitian Index Map JPG

    Central Coast Index Map (PDF 2.9MB) | Central Coast Index Map JPG

    Illawarra Index Map (PDF 2.2MB) | Illawarra Index Map JPG

    GDA94 Geographical MID/MIF Files

    New South Wales electoral boundaries for the 2015 State election are available here as GDA94 geographical MapInfo mid/mif polygons and are supplied 'as is'.  This can be used in software such as MapInfo, ARC GIS or similar.

    These boundaries have been sourced by the Electoral Districts Commission and should be suitable for most purposes. GDA94 geographical MapInfo mid/mif polygons (ZIP 4.6MB)

    Local government area boundaries

    Areas and wards

    The number of electors enrolled in council areas varies from less than 1000 to more than 250,000.

    Councils may be either:

    • undivided - where the whole council electorate elects all the councillors for the council

    • divided into wards - where each ward electorate elects an equal number of councillors to make up the whole council.

    There are 128 councils in New South Wales.

    You can look up your local government area here.

    Ward boundary management

    Councils divided into wards have to ensure the number of electors in each ward is approximately the same.

    A review should generally occur once every term in the year after an election.

    If a review is undertaken and a council needs to adjust its ward boundaries, due to a difference of more than 10 per cent in the number of electors between wards, the council must consult the NSW Electoral Commission.

    A council can only divide its area into wards, or remove all wards in its area, if approval is given at a referendum. All enrolled electors in a council area must vote in a referendum and the result of the referendum is binding on the council.

    Boundary changes affecting local government areas that involve amalgamation may occur by referral by the Minister of Local Government to the Local Government Boundaries Commission.