Information on this page relates to the old (2004) electoral boundaries. New electoral boundaries take effect from the 2015 NSW State Election – please see the Tweed 2015 page for updated details.

From the New South Wales and Queensland border in the north to Crabbes Creek in the south; and from the Tweed Valley Way in the west to the New South Wales coast in the east (inclusive of all islands lying off the coast of the district).

Map of Tweed

Geographic information

Electoral district maps


507 square kilometres


2483, 2484, 2485, 2486, 2487, 2488, 2489, 2490

Local Government Areas within district

Part of Tweed.


Banora Point, Bilambil, Bogangar, Burringbar, Carool, Chinderah, Clothiers Creek, Condong, Crabbes Creek, Cudgen, Cudgera Creek, Duranbah, Fingal Head, Glengarrie, Hasting Point, Kingscliff, Mooball, Pottsville, Round Mountain, Terranora, Tomewin, Tumbulgum, Tweed Heads, Upper Burringbar, Wooyung.

This list is indicative only.

Demographic information

ABS 2006 Census electorate quick stats including

  • Age
  • Country of Birth
  • Main Language Spoken at Home
  • Religious Affiliation
  • Marital Status
  • Labour Force
  • Employment
  • Income
  • Family Characteristics
  • Dwelling Characteristics
  • Household Composition
  • Landlord Type

Demographic Rating


Enrolment Statistics

District Enrolment

Election results

2007 State Election results
2011 State Election results

Recent History

2007 – Present (Geoff) Geoffrey Keith PROVEST The Nationals
1999 – 2007 Neville Joseph NEWELL Australian Labor Party
1898 – 1904 Richard Denis MEAGHER Independent

Note: Tweed district was abolished in 1904 and recreated in 1999