Information on this page relates to the old (2004) electoral boundaries. New electoral boundaries take effect from the 2015 NSW State Election – please see the Newcastle 2015 page for updated details.

From the Hunter River in the north to Merewether Heights in the south; and from Lambton Road in the west to the New South Wales coast in the east (inclusive of all islands lying off the coast of the district).

Map of Newcastle

Geographic information

Electoral district maps

High Resolution map (PDF 420.5KB) PDF

Outline map (PDF 114.3KB) PDF

Low Resolution map (GIF 240.7 KB)


47 square kilometres


2289, 2291, 2292, 2293, 2294, 2295, 2296, 2297, 2298, 2299, 2300, 2302, 2303, 2304, 2305

Local Government Areas within district

Part of Newcastle.


Broadmeadow, Carrington, Georgetown, Hamilton, Hamilton South, Islington, Lambton, Maryville, Mayfield North, Mayfield East, Merewether, Merewether Heights, Newcastle, Stockton, The Hill, The Junction, Tighes Hill, Waratah, Wickham.

This list is indicative only.

Demographic information

ABS 2011 Census electorate quick stats including

  • Age
  • Country of Birth
  • Main Language Spoken at Home
  • Religious Affiliation
  • Marital Status
  • Labour Force
  • Employment
  • Income
  • Family Characteristics
  • Dwelling Characteristics
  • Household Composition

Demographic Rating


Enrolment Statistics

District Enrolment

Election results

2007 State Election results
2011 State Election results

Recent History

2011 – 2014(Tim) Timothy Francis OWENLiberal Party
2007 – 2011Jodi Leyanne MCKAYAustralian Labor Party
1991 – 2007Bryce James GAUDRYAustralian Labor Party
1988 – 1991Ernest George KEEGANIndependent