Information on this page relates to the old (2004) electoral boundaries. New electoral boundaries take effect from the 2015 NSW State Election – please see the Murray 2015 page for updated details.

From the New South Wales and Queensland border in the north to the New South Wales and Victoria border in the south; and from the New South Wales and South Australia border in the west to Lake Brewster in the east.

Map of Murray-Darling

Geographic information

Electoral district maps


250,388 square kilometres


2642, 2645, 2646, 2647, 2648, 2652, 2669, 2672, 2675, 2700, 2707, 2710, 2711, 2712, 2713, 2714, 2715, 2716, 2717, 2731, 2732, 2733, 2734, 2735, 2736, 2737, 2738, 2739, 2836, 2840, 2878, 2879, 2880, 3500, 3579, 3585, 3586, 3644, 5440

Local Government Areas within district

Balranald, Berrigan, Broken Hill, Central Darling, Conargo, Deniliquin, Hay, Jerilderie, Murray, Urana, Wakool and Wentworth and part of Carrathool.


Ballbank, Balranald, Barooga, Barham, Beilpajah, Berrigan, Blighty, Booligal, Booroorban, Broken Hill, Bunnaloo, Buronga, Burraboi, Caldwell, Conargo, Conoble, Coombah, Coree, Darrick, Deniliquin, Dhuragoon, Dilpurra, Dirrung, Emmdale, Euston, Finley, Four Corners, Goorawin, Greenvale, Gunbar, Hatfi  eld, Hay, Hillston, Illiliwa, Ivanhoe, Jerilderie, Jimaringle, Kinalung, Kyalite, Langtree, Lake Dareton, Logie Brae, Lowlands, Mallan, Manara, Mathoura, Maude, Mayrung, Menindee, Merriwagga, Milparinka, Monak, Morago, Morundah, Mossgiel, Moulamein, Mount Gipps, Niemur, Nyora, Oaklands, Oxley, Packsaddle,  Penarie, Pooncarie, Quondong, Roto, Rufus River, Sayers Lake, Silverton, Stephens Creek, Stony Crossing, Uardry, Tibooburra, Tocumwal, Trida, Tullakool, Tuppal, Urana, Urisino, Wakool, Wamboota, Wanganella, Wentworth, White Cliffs, Widgiewa, Wilcannia, Yallakool, Yanco Glen.

This list is indicative only.

Demographic information

ABS 2006 Census electorate quick stats including

  • Age
  • Country of Birth
  • Main Language Spoken at Home
  • Religious Affiliation
  • Marital Status
  • Labour Force
  • Employment
  • Income
  • Family Characteristics
  • Dwelling Characteristics
  • Household Composition
  • Landlord Type

Demographic Rating


Enrolment Statistics

District Enrolment

Election results

2007 State Election results
2011 State Election results

Recent History

2007 – present John Douglas WILLIAMS National Party
1999 – 2007 Peter Laurence BLACK  Australian Labor Party 
1985 – 1999 (Jim) James Richard SMALL National Party
1980 – 1984 Timothy Andrew FISCHER National Party