Lake Macquarie

Information on this page relates to the old (2004) electoral boundaries. New electoral boundaries take effect from the 2015 NSW State Election – please see the Lake Macquarie 2015 page for updated details.

From Watagan Forest Road in the north to the Sydney Newcastle Freeway in the south; and from Greta Road in the west to the New South Wales coast in the east.

Map of Lake Macquarie

Geographic information

Electoral district maps


1,062 square kilometres


2250, 2258, 2259, 2264, 2265, 2267, 2278, 2282, 2283, 2284, 2285, 2323

Local Government Areas within district

Parts of Lake Macquarie and Wyong.


Arcadia Vale, Awaba, Balmoral, Blackalls Park, Bolton Point, Bonnells Bay, Boolaroo, Booragul, Buttaba, Cary Bay, Cedar Brush Creek, Coal Point, Cooranbong, Dora Creek, Dooralong, Durren Durren, Eraring, Fassifern, Fennell Bay, Freemans Waterhole, Kangy Angy, Kilaben Bay, Killingworth, Lakelands, Lemon  Tree, Little Jilliby, Macquarie Hill, Mandalong, Mardi, Marmong Point, Martinsville, Morisset, Myuna Bay, Rathmines, Ravensdale, Ryhope, Silverwater, Speers Point, Sunshine, Teralba, Toronto, Wakefield, Wangi Wangi, Windermere Park, Woodrising, Wyee, Wyee Point, Wyong Creek, Yarramalong, Yarrawonga  Park.

This list is indicative only.

Demographic information

ABS 2006 Census electorate quick stats including

  • Age
  • Country of Birth
  • Main Language Spoken at Home
  • Religious Affiliation
  • Marital Status
  • Labour Force
  • Employment
  • Income
  • Family Characteristics
  • Dwelling Characteristics
  • Household Composition
  • Landlord Type

Demographic Rating


Enrolment Statistics

District Enrolment

Election results

2007 State Election results
2011 State Election results

Recent History

2007 – Present (Greg) Gregory Michael PIPER Independent
1991 – 2007 (Jeff) Jeffrey HUNTER Australian Labor Party
1969 – 1991 (Merv) Mervyn Leslie HUNTER Australian Labor Party