Information on this page relates to the old (2004) electoral boundaries. New electoral boundaries take effect from the 2015 NSW State Election – please see the Charlestown 2015 page for updated details.

From the Main Northern railway in the north to Tingira Drive in the south; and from Macquarie Drive in the west to the New South Wales coast in the east.

Map of Charlestown

Geographic information

Electoral district maps


57 square kilometres


2280, 2282, 2285, 2289, 2290, 2306

Local Government Areas within district

Parts of Lake Macquarie and Newcastle.


Adamstown, Adamstown Heights, Belmont North, Bennetts Green, Cardiff, Cardiff South, Charlestown, Dudley, Eleebana, Floraville, Garden Suburb, Gateshead, Highfields, Hillsborough, Jewells, Kahibah, Kotara, Kotara South, Mount Hutton, Redhead, Tingira Heights, Warners Bay, Whitebridge, Windale.

This list is indicative only.

Demographic information

ABS 2011 Census electorate quick stats including

  • Age
  • Country of Birth
  • Main Language Spoken at Home
  • Religious Affiliation
  • Marital Status
  • Labour Force
  • Employment
  • Income
  • Family Characteristics
  • Dwelling Characteristics
  • Household Composition

Demographic Rating


Enrolment Statistics

District Enrolment

Election results

2007 State Election results
2011 State Election results

Recent History

2011 – 2014Andrew Stuart CORNWELLLiberal Party
2003 – 2011Matthew Allan MORRISAustralian Labor Party
1972 – 2003(Richard) Jack Richard FACEAustralian Labor Party
1971 – 1972John Julius Thomas STEWARTAustralian Labor Party