Information on this page relates to the old (2004) electoral boundaries. New electoral boundaries take effect from the 2015 NSW State Election – please see the Cessnock 2015 page for updated details.

From the Hunter River in the north to Watagan Forest Road in the south; and from Broken Back Range in the west to the Hunter River in the east.

Map of Cessnock

Geographic information

Electoral district maps


1484 square kilometres


2278, 2285, 2286, 2287, 2320, 2321, 2322, 2323, 2325, 2326, 2327, 2330, 2334, 2335

Local Government Areas within district

Parts of Cessnock, Lake Macquarie, Newcastle and Singleton.


Abermain, Bellbird, Branxton, Brunkerville, Cessnock, Ellalong, Greta, Kearsley, Kurri Kurri, Millfi eld, Mulbring, Paxton, Pokolbin.

This list is indicative only.

Demographic information

ABS 2006 Census electorate quick stats including

  • Age
  • Country of Birth
  • Main Language Spoken at Home
  • Religious Affiliation
  • Marital Status
  • Labour Force
  • Employment
  • Income
  • Family Characteristics
  • Dwelling Characteristics
  • Household Composition
  • Landlord Type

Demographic Rating


Enrolment Statistics

District Enrolment

Election results

2007 State Election results
2011 State Election results

Recent History

2011 – Present Clayton Gordon BARR Country Labor Party
1999 – 2011 Kerry Arthur HICKEY Australian Labor Party
1991 – 1999 (Stan) Stanley Thomas NEILLY Australian Labor Party
1988 – 1991 Robert Gordon Arthur ROBERTS Liberal Party