Information on this page relates to the old (2004) electoral boundaries. New electoral boundaries take effect from the 2015 NSW State Election – please see the Balmain 2015 page for updated details.

From the Parramatta River in the north to Parramatta Rd in the south; and from the Iron Cove Creek in the west to Wattle Street in the east.

Map of Balmain

Geographic information

Electoral district maps


19 square kilometres


2000, 2037, 2038, 2039, 2040, 2041, 2045, 2047, 2050

Local Government Areas within district

Leichhardt and part of Ashfield and Sydney.


Annandale, Balmain, Balmain East, Birchgrove, Camperdown, Cockatoo Island, Dobroyd Point, Forest Lodge, Glebe, Haberfield, Leichhardt, Lilyfield, Rodd Island, Rozelle, Sydney.

This list is indicative only.

Demographic information

ABS 2006 Census electorate quick stats (Balmain Suburb) including

  • Age
  • Country of Birth
  • Main Language Spoken at Home
  • Religious Affiliation
  • Marital Status
  • Labour Force
  • Employment
  • Income
  • Family Characteristics
  • Dwelling Characteristics
  • Household Composition
  • Landlord Type

Demographic Rating

Inner Metropolitan

Enrolment Statistics

District Enrolment

Election results

2007 State Election results
2011 State Election results

Recent History

2011 – Present Jamie Thomas PARKER The Greens
2007 – 2011 Verity Helen FIRTH Labor
1988 – 1991 Dawn FRASER Independent
1984 – 1988 Peter Thomson CRAWFORD Australian Labor Party

Note: District of Balmain was abolished in 1991 and recreated in 2007