Manly State By-election

 Saturday, 8 April 2017

Due to server patching, parts of this website will not be available from 9pm on Fri, 24 Mar 2017 until 9pm on Sat, 25 Mar 2017

Election of Legislative Assembly Member for Manly

The distribution of preferences to determine the elected candidate in Manly State district will occur within the NSW Electoral Commission's Legislative Assembly data entry system at the respective Returning Officer's office commencing at 9.00am, Thursday 13 April. The distribution of preferences will take no longer than 10 minutes.

Candidates, their representatives, public and the media are welcome to attend.

It is compulsory for Australian citizens, 18 years of age or older and resident in the Manly State District, to enrol and vote for the election of a member of the Legislative Assembly on Saturday, 8 April 2017.

Returning Officer's Office

Unit 2, 192 Harbord Road,
Brookvale NSW 2100

Office Hours

  • Friday, 17 March 2017 from receipt of writ to 6.00pm
  • Monday, 20 March to Friday, 24 March 2017: 9.00am to 5.00pm
  • Monday, 27 March to Friday, 31 March 2017: 8.00am to 6.00pm
  • Saturday, 1 April 2017: 9.00am to 5.00pm
  • Monday, 3 April to Wednesday, 5 April 2017: 8.00am to 6.00pm
  • Thursday, 6 April 2017: 8.00am to 8.00pm
  • Friday, 7 April 2017: 8.00am to 6.00pm
  • Saturday, 8 April 2017: 8.00am to 6.00pm

Postal Address

PO Box 671
Freshwater NSW 2096

Candidate Enquiries

1300 088 942

General Enquiries

1300 135 736

Key Dates TimeSchedule
Friday, 17 March   Issue of Writ
  Start of capped State expenditure period and registration of third-party campaigners, candidates and official agents
  Nominations open
6.00pm Close of rolls (for nominations and roll printing)
Wednesday, 22 March 12.00 noon Close of Registered Political Party nominations at NSWEC head office
Thursday, 23 March   Open registration of electoral material
12.00 noon Close of nominations at Returning Officer's office
12.00 noon Registration for candidates closes 
2.00pm Conduct of ballot paper draw
Monday, 27 March 8.00am - 6.00pm Pre-poll voting opens at the Returning Officer's Office
9.00am - 5.00pm Pre-poll voting opens at NSWEC Head Office
Tuesday, 28 March 8.00am - 6.00pm Pre-poll voting at the Returning Officer's Office
9.00am - 5.00pm Pre-poll voting at NSWEC Head Office
Wednesday, 29 March 8.00am - 6.00pm Pre-poll voting at the Returning Officer's Office
9.00am - 5.00pm Pre-poll voting at NSWEC Head Office
10.00am iVote registration opens
Thursday, 30 March 8.00am - 6.00pm Pre-poll voting at the Returning Officer's Office
9.00am - 5.00pm Pre-poll voting at NSWEC Head Office
Friday, 31 March   8.00am - 6.00pm Pre-poll voting at the Returning Officer's Office
9.00am - 5.00pm Pre-poll voting at NSWEC Head Office
5.00pm Close registration of electoral material
  Close registration of third-party campaigners
Saturday, 1 April 9.00am - 5.00pm Pre-poll voting at the Returning Officer's Office
Monday, 3 April 8.00am iVote voting opens
8.00am - 6.00pm Pre-poll voting at the Returning Officer's Office
9.00am - 5.00pm Pre-poll voting at NSWEC Head Office
6.00pm Postal vote applications (from outside Australia) close
  Declared Institution (DI) voting starts
Tuesday, 4 April 8.00am - 6.00pm Pre-poll voting at the Returning Officer's Office
9.00am - 5.00pm Pre-poll voting at NSWEC Head Office
Wednesday, 5 April 8.00am - 6.00pm Pre-poll voting at the Returning Officer's Office
9.00am - 5.00pm Pre-poll voting at NSWEC Head Office
6.00pm Postal Vote applications (from within Australia) close
Thursday, 6 April 8.00am - 8.00pm Pre-poll voting at the Returning Officer's Office
9.00am - 5.00pm Pre-poll voting at NSWEC Head Office
Friday, 7 April 8.00am - 6.00pm Pre-poll voting at the Returning Officer's Office
9.00am - 5.00pm Pre-poll voting at NSWEC Head Office
  DI voting ends
Saturday, 8 April  8.00am - 6.00pm Election Day
1.00pm iVote registration closes
6.00pm iVote voting closes
  End of capped State expenditure period
Wednesday, 12 April 6.00pm  Return of postal votes close
Thursday, 13 April 9.00am Distribution of preferences (if required)
Tuesday, 16 May   Last day of return of Writ
Wednesday, 13 September   Due date for lodgement of public funding claims

Am I enrolled in this Election

iVote

Need Help?

Visit the Electoral Commission website