Cootamundra State By-election

 Saturday, 14 October 2017

Due to a scheduled maintenance, parts of this website will not be available from 12am until 9pm on Saturday, 25 November 2017.

Election of Legislative Assembly Member for Cootamundra

It is compulsory for Australian citizens, 18 years of age or older and resident in the Cootamundra, to enrol and vote for the election of a member of the Legislative Assembly on Saturday, 14 October 2017.

Returning Officer's Office

137 Kendall St

Office Hours

9.00am to 5.00pm from Monday, 25 September until Friday 29, September.
8.00am to 6.00pm from Monday, 2 October.

Note: The Returning Officer's office will be open on Monday 2 October (Public Holiday) from 8.00am to 6.00pm, Saturday 7 October from 9.00 to 5.00pm and Thursday, 12 October from 8.00am to 8.00pm

Candidate Enquiries

1300 088 942

General Enquiries

1300 135 736

Key DatesTimeSchedule
Monday, 25 September   Issue of Writ
  Open candidate registration
  Start capped State expenditure period
  Open Third-party campaigner registration
  Nominations open
10.00am Open Online Postal Vote applications
10.00am Start iVote registration
6.00pm Close of rolls (for nominations)
Wednesday, 27 September 12.00 noon Close of Registered Political Party nominations at NSWEC head office
Thursday, 28 September   Open registration of electoral material
12.00 noon Close of nominations at Returning Officer's office
12.00 noon Close candidate registration 
2.00pm Conduct of ballot paper draw
Monday, 2 October   Pre-poll voting is open
8.00am Start iVote voting
Friday, 6 October 5.00pm Close registration of electoral material
6.00pm Close registration of third-party campaigners
Monday, 9 October   Declared Institution (DI) voting starts
6.00pm Close postal vote applications (outside Australia)
Wednesday, 11 October 6.00pm Close postal vote applications (within Australia)
Friday, 13 October   DI voting ends
6.00pm Pre-poll voting ends
Saturday, 14 October     End of capped State expenditure period
8.00am - 6.00pm ELECTION DAY
1.00pm iVote registration closes
6.00pm iVote voting closes
Wednesday, 18 October 6.00pm  Close of return of postal votes
Thursday, 19 October 9.00am Distribution of preferences (if required)
Friday, 24 November   Last day of return of Writ
Monday, 26 March 2018   Close of claims from Election Campaigns Fund

Am I enrolled in this Election

Unable to vote on election day?


Need Help?

Visit the Electoral Commission website